Actors Advice ~ Joe Lorenzo interview with Giovonnie Samuels

“The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is practice”

Acting since she was a kid. Regular sketch performer on Nickelodeon’s “All That”, heavily recurred on Disney’s “Suite Life on Deck”, and “Mr Box Office”. Lead in Films, “Bring it On Again” opposite Hayden Pannetiere, and Solange Knowles; and “Freedom Writers” opposite Academy Award Winner Hilary Swank, to name a few…
Joe: Q) How long have you been acting?Giovonnie: A) I’ve been acting professionally for over 15 plus years but I’ve always done plays and community theater since I was 5 years old.

Joe: Q) Did you have any mentors or someone guiding you along the way?

Giovonnie: A) I’ve had some really great managers that help me with my career. And I’m always asking questions and willing to learn from some of the older actors that I work with on set. Essence Atkins is also a great mentor.

Joe: Q) Did you study? How important is it to study and private coach for auditions?

Giovonnie: A) Oh my god yes! Study study study. I have a private coach that I use on call for really big auditions and I take classes every once in a while. Never stop learning and improving your craft. One of my favorite quotes “The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is practice”

Joe: Q) With all the rejection this business has, what keeps you going?

Giovonnie: A) What is for me, is for me. There have been many times when it has been between myself and another person up for the same role, and it not up to me. At that point the producers are matching you with the other characters. I have done everything in my power to make sure my talent shows. On to the next one.

Joe: Q) What advice were you given when you were starting out that you can remember and share?

Giovonnie: A) Treat everyone with the same respect on set, whether it be craft service or an executive producer. Manners and professionalism  take you a lot farther in this business then you think.

Joe: Q) What piece of advice do you have for those just starting out?

Giovonnie: A) I started in the industry in the very young age so my advised that I would give to a young person (or a parent) have fun. Understand that this is a business first but I have always been a big advocate of when it stops being fun don’t do it. Because you have to sacrifice your childhood/teen years and make those choices between going to a party with your friends or an audition, or going to prom or a movie premiere. I don’t regret any of the decisions that I made because I understood what I was giving up for.

Joe: Q) Any last word of wisdom or something you would like to leave us with that can help someone starting out or someone struggling to keep going in this business?

Giovonnie: A) This business comes in waves. When it’s good, it’s good when it’s slow, work on your craft. Everyone is so concerned about getting the next job that they don’t appreciate the one that they already have. I’ve worked very hard for my career and I had to take a break to really appreciate all the great things that I have done. No matter what, enjoy the ride.

~ Giovonnie Twitter: @Only1Giovonnie
~ Giovonnie IG: @Only1Giovonnie
~ Joe Twitter: @Joe_Lorenzo
~ Joe IG: Joe_Lorenzo

Leave a comment